An ugly job, but it’s a living

Staying Low

In the next few weeks I will visit the headquarters of my employer for the first time in two years. It will be the last time I enter as an employee because I am dropping by to claim my retirement. If you hear a loud “pop” sound, that will be my greedy mouth being pulled away from the nipple on the big blue tit.

While building this blog I had a few moments in which I thought I could do away with my anonymity. After further reflection I opted to remain Cerberus, an unnamed cop working for retired from the Some City Police Department.


There are good reasons for staying under the radar. One evening, while influenced by strong drink and an atmosphere of tale telling, I revealed the existence of this blog to a few co-workers. The clamor demanding the location was resounding and as I thought about providing them the address to the blog, I suddenly realized that I had written about everyone present.

I’m not in the habit of writing bad things about friends, but their occasional faux paus have given me blogging ammunition in the past. And to be brutally honest, they will no doubt continue to arm me with blogging fodder for years to come. What I saw as humor and wit might be seen as a full frontal assault. It’s difficult enough keeping friends under normal circumstances without tossing a rhetorical hand grenade into the relationship.

My soon to be former employers will certainly continue to do the things they have always done. While there have been moments I wanted to go on Jihad against certain idiots, I nixed that idea as long as I was getting a paycheck. It’s not prudent to bite the hand that is paying you, and I didn’t want to get the call to stand before the man on the 16th floor to explain myself. After which somebody would haul me off to the23rd floor to start the immediate outprocessing.

I prefer not to be Dooced before my time. Or perhaps in this field we should now start using the term “Loved”:

A Wichita Falls police officer whose Web page on MySpace.com included images of dismembered women has been indefinitely suspended, city officials said.

Indefinitely suspended – without pay – is police bossspeak for “fired”. Brother Love is planning an appeal, claiming that it was all about his love for the horror movie genre. Without seeing his site, I can’t say for sure, but there may be more to it than the Love man claims.

…and he had comments about quote “tasering homos while working the game”

It can be like that in this profession. If you step on your wang in a very public way, and the media jumps on you like you’re an open bar at a journalist convention, you will be amazed at how quickly you find yourself as the night shift manager at Bob’s Burger Barn. That’s more drama that I’m willing to live with.

Once the retirement kicks in, I could opt to more closely comment on the real world Some City – but my coworkers aren’t stupid and eventually they would put the real me and Cerberus together. Face it, the only reason Clark Kent never got outed was because Lois Lane and Jimmy Olsen were dumbasses. Some of the people I worked with have been accused of doing some dumbass things from time to time, but it doesn’t mean they’re stoopid.

I’m sticking with the Cerberus thing as long as it works for me. And if I ever get accused, I’ll do the only thing that makes sense. I’ll lie my ass off.

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Exposing yourself « Cerberus at the gate

  2. What i do not understood is in fact how you’re no longer actually much more neatly-liked than you may be now. You are very intelligent. You already know thus considerably on the subject of this topic, produced me personally imagine it from numerous various angles. Its like men and women are not involved unless it’s something
    to do with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs excellent. All the time care for it up!

    21 October, 2012 at 5:06

  3. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this weblog on regular basis to take updated from
    most up-to-date news.

    8 August, 2014 at 23:17

  4. Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, very good blog!

    9 August, 2014 at 16:26

  5. Hi there to all, the contents present at this site are really awesome for people knowledge, well,
    keep up the good work fellows.

    11 August, 2014 at 11:37

  6. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very
    good results. If you know of any please share.
    Thanks!

    14 August, 2014 at 23:56

  7. Hello colleagues, fastidious paragraph and fastidious urging commented here, I am in fact
    enjoying by these.

    15 August, 2014 at 4:19

Leave a comment